Music Alliance Pact 2nd Anniversary Compilation

The Music Alliance Pact is two years old this month and there’s a treat in store for you today in celebration of the occasion.

I’ve tried to take music blogging in less obvious directions with The Pop Cop, but the success of MAP has been completely unexpected.

Since its launch in October 2008 with 12 blogs – each representing the finest new music from their country of origin on the 15th of every month – the project has trebled in size and currently incorporates all the territories listed at the foot of the blog.

To date, 24 Scottish artists have been picked by The Pop Cop for MAP exposure and now 23* of them have donated a song for a special anniversary compilation which you can download for free.

Many of the tracks are exclusive to this album or very rare, so think of it as a little thank-you to everyone who has supported the Music Alliance Pact.

1. Roddy HartClose To The Flame
Also available on Road Of Bones album

2. BeerjacketCrooked Finger
Previously unreleased, recorded exclusively for this compilation

3. DotjrThis Is My Life
Previously unreleased

4. Evan CrichtonCoppola And Hearts
Previously unreleased, recorded exclusively for this compilation

5. We Were Promised JetpacksDown To The Bare Bones
Also available on Roll Up Your Sleeves single (FatCat Records)

6. There Will Be FireworksTalking Backwards
Previously unreleased

7. BoycottsShoot You Down
Previously unreleased

8. The Seventeenth CenturyCountryside
Previously unreleased

9. Maple LeavesTapestry
Also available on Tapestry single (Koshka)

10. My Cousin I Bid You FarewellI’m Yours
Previously unreleased

11. The XcertsPhotobooth (Death Cab For Cutie cover)
Previously unreleased

12. MeursaultAnother
Also available on All Creatures Will Make Merry album (Song, By Toad Records)

13. The Unwinding HoursBurning River
Also available on Tour EP

14. The Kays LavelleAftermath
Also available on Be Still This Gentle Morning album (Wiseblood Industries)

15. GalleriesRescue Plan
Previously unreleased

16. WerdDrinkin’ By Myself
Previously unreleased

17. Admiral FallowDelivered (Alternate Version)
Previously unreleased

18. Washington IrvingPhantom Buck
Also available on Little Wanderer, Head Thee Home EP (Instinctive Racoon Records)

19. Sorren MacleanCold Old Corridor
Also available on Bus Tax And Bars single

20. Kid CanaveralMissing Me
Also available on Second Time Around single

21. LightGuidesThe Casting Call
Also available on LightGuides/Make Sparks split single

22. DemsLioness
Also available on Bandcamp

23. EndorFor The Love Of Yamamoto & Ogawa
Also available on Without The Help Of Sparks single


*The only missing MAP artist is Broken Records as their record label, 4AD, refused to sanction the use of any of their songs.

6 Responses to “Music Alliance Pact 2nd Anniversary Compilation”

  1. Fictionscoutsanonymous Says:

    October 2nd, 2010 at 15:25

    Why does recorded exclusively or previously unreleased have to mean acoustic? Why do Scottish bands love acoustic versions of songs? Also, why is Werd still being taken seriously. He should never have been included on a compilation with artists that are, for the most part, attempting to write credible, original and relevant music. At the very least you should add a footnote suggesting that some might view him as a joke. These confusions aside I enjoyed listening to this compilation. I had heard some of the material before and was aware of most of the artists but my surprise highlights were by far, Burning River by The Unwinding Hours; I never got a hold of the tour EP but love the record and have always been a fan of Craig’s voice, and I’m Yours by My Cousin I bid You Farewell. This song was a real treat for me because it doesn’t sound like a band from Scotland at all. It was also the only song I listened to more than once. Great tune!

    All in all, good work Mr Pop Cop! You should make this an annual thing. Your top 12 tracks of the year as a Christmas album?

  2. Josh Says:

    October 2nd, 2010 at 16:48

    Very good, thank you. Big fan of The Unwinding Hours, There Will Be Fireworks and We Were Promised Jetpacks.

  3. David Says:

    October 3rd, 2010 at 15:46

    Great compilation! Poor, poor show from 4AD though. Haven’t Broken Records got an album coming out that this would have been great, free, multi-country-wide publicity for? Considering they’re giving away ‘A Leaving Song’ for free, what’d be the harm in 4AD allowing you to use it?!?

  4. The Pop Cop Says:

    October 3rd, 2010 at 22:13

    RE Fictionscoutsanonymous: Your argument doesn’t quite stack up… virtually all of the acoustic tracks here are from artists who are acoustic-based anyway, the only exception being The Xcerts. Werd is an amazingly talented rapper, you should check out his other stuff, but each to their own I guess. And don’t you worry, you’ll get plenty of Xmas prezzies from me!

    RE David: Trust me, I made all those points to 4AD. The sad thing was that the band themselves were totally up for it.

  5. P Says:

    October 4th, 2010 at 08:40

    Rock bands! Guitars bursting in your face like flames! Molten electric rock! Rock! Graaaarrrrrrr! Like a frickin’ turbo jet – BOOOOOOOOOOSSSSHHHH!

  6. Aratol Says:

    October 6th, 2010 at 10:55

    I am following MAP for more than a year now. I believe it was a great idea. Keep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

Go Back